Keyhole joint surgery waiting time at Women's and Children's Hospital
Half of patients at Women's and Children's Hospital waited 127 days or less for keyhole joint surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Arthroscopy". This public hospital is in the North Adelaide area of South Australia.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 127 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 28 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 150 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 115 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 34 days in 2016–17 to 127 days in 2024–25 — up 274% — while the national median rose from 68 days to 78 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Royal Adelaide Hospital, about 2 km away, at 64 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Arthroscopy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Women's and Children's Hospital | 127 days | not published | 28 surgeries |
| South Australia (all public hospitals) | 62 days | 3.7% | 1061 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 78 days | 7.1% | 8779 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 78 days marks the national median.
Royal Adelaide Hospital, SA · about 2 km away: 64 days
The Queen Elizabeth Hospital, SA · about 7 km away: 126 days
Modbury Hospital, SA · about 12 km away: 83 days
Flinders Medical Centre, SA · about 13 km away: 19 days
Lyell McEwin Hospital, SA · about 19 km away: 95 days
Noarlunga Hospital, SA · about 27 km away: 78 days
Mount Barker District Soldiers' Memorial Hospital, SA · about 31 km away: 38 days
Gawler Health Service, SA · about 38 km away: 15 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Women's and Children's Hospital
- SA
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Women's and Children's Hospital (days) | SA (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | 34 | 56 | 68 |
| 2017–18 | 54 | 54 | 72 |
| 2018–19 | 44 | 56 | 75 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 65 | 76 |
| 2020–21 | not published | 41 | 89 |
| 2021–22 | not reported for this period | 57 | 85 |
| 2022–23 | 49 | 45 | 86 |
| 2023–24 | 92 | 50 | 78 |
| 2024–25 | 127 | 62 | 78 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Women's and Children's Hospital · Keyhole joint surgery across Australia · Keyhole joint surgery in South Australia · All surgery waits in South Australia