Women's and Children's Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the North Adelaide area of South Australia published median waits from 5 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 352 days for prolapse repair.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Women's and Children's Hospital is a public hospital in the North Adelaide area of South Australia. It is part of Women's and Children's Health Network. It reported 82 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 42 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | 5 days | 157 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 14 days | 55 surgeries | 5.5% |
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction | 22 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia | 38 days | 59 surgeries | 6.8% |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 43 days | 414 surgeries | 0.5% |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | 46 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| Tendon release | 51 days | 42 surgeries | not published |
| Cystoscopy | 53 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 77 days | 97 surgeries | 7.2% |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | 80 days | 43 surgeries | not published |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of | 82 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | 85 days | 139 surgeries | 2.2% |
| Myringotomy | 85 days | 219 surgeries | 1.8% |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of | 85 days | 219 surgeries | 1.8% |
| Hydrocele - repair of | 87 days | 34 surgeries | not published |
| Toenail surgery | 92 days | 44 surgeries | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | 97 days | 421 surgeries | 5.9% |
| Circumcision | 106 days | 75 surgeries | 22.7% |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 106 days | 94 surgeries | 5.3% |
| Adenoidectomy | 112 days | 105 surgeries | 7.6% |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | 113 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| Orchidopexy | 119 days | 96 surgeries | 8.3% |
| Arthroscopy | 127 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) | 128 days | 38 surgeries | not published |
| Hypospadias - repair of | 165 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| Osteotomy | 205 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Pectus surgery | 218 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 321 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty | 335 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | 352 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Amputation of limb | not published | not published | not published |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast reconstruction | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast reduction | not published | not published | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Chalazion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Cleft lip and palate - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Cranioplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Craniotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Cystectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dacryocystorhinostomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Endometrial ablation | not published | not published | not published |
| Exostosis - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Fundoplication | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of | not published | not published | not published |
| Insertion of ventricular peritoneal shunt | not published | not published | not published |
| Laminectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Mastectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Mastoidectomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Meatoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Meniscectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Myomectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Nasal cautery | not published | not published | not published |
| Nasendoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Nephrectomy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Orchidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Parathyroidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Probing of naso-lacrimal duct | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Ptosis - repair of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Radical neck dissection | not published | not published | not published |
| Septoplasty | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder reconstruction | not published | not published | not published |
| Stress incontinence surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Tenotomy of hip | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Turbinectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Ureteric - reimplantation | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Urethra - dilatation of | not published | not published | not published |
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Arthrodesis last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Arthroplasty - revision of last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Carpal tunnel release last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Cervical discectomy and fusion last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Chiari malformation decompression last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Cone biopsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Congenital cardiac defect/s - procedure for last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Corneal graft last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Coronary artery bypass grafting last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Discectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Ethmoidectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Laryngectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Lithotripsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Microlaryngoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Neonatal surgery last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Pharyngoplasty last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Posterior fossa decompression last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Pterygium - excision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Removal of intracranial lesion last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Rhinoplasty last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Rotator cuff - repair of last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Scar revision last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder joint replacement last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Sub-mucosal resection last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Untethering of spinal cord last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 10 days | 100% | 1254 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 86 days | 57% | 2580 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 339 days | 69% | 842 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Women's and Children's Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 5 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 352 days for prolapse repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Women's and Children's Hospital waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/womens-and-childrens-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/womens-and-childrens-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in South Australia · All hospitals