The Queen Elizabeth Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Woodville South area of South Australia published median waits from 10 days for armpit lymph node removal to 659 days for breast reduction.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
The Queen Elizabeth Hospital is a public hospital in the Woodville South area of South Australia. It is part of Central Adelaide. It reported 94 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 21 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Axillary node dissection | 10 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | 14 days | 97 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | 19 days | 317 surgeries | 0.3% |
| Mastectomy | 20 days | 131 surgeries | 1.5% |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 22 days | 669 surgeries | 0.6% |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of | 32 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| Myringotomy | 33 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Nephrectomy | 44 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| Ureteric - reimplantation | 47 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 50 days | 83 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 50 days | 542 surgeries | 3.7% |
| Lithotripsy | 50 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of | 56 days | 76 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Scar revision | 60 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder joint replacement | 61 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Cystoscopy | 62 days | 194 surgeries | 4.1% |
| Prostate biopsy | 64 days | 146 surgeries | 3.4% |
| Parathyroidectomy | 73 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | 73 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | 75 days | 35 surgeries | not published |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | 79 days | 45 surgeries | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | 82 days | 42 surgeries | not published |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | 85 days | 117 surgeries | 2.6% |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 87 days | 148 surgeries | 1.4% |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | 96 days | 57 surgeries | 3.5% |
| Herniorrhaphy | 110 days | 48 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 110 days | 118 surgeries | 3.4% |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 112 days | 106 surgeries | 14.2% |
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia | 124 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroscopy | 126 days | 57 surgeries | 14.0% |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | 150 days | 36 surgeries | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | 155 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | 155 days | 50 surgeries | 34.0% |
| Mastoidectomy | 158 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 166 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Fundoplication | 173 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| Total hip replacement | 204 days | 56 surgeries | 19.6% |
| Circumcision | 215 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Septoplasty | 217 days | 90 surgeries | 17.8% |
| Osteotomy | 232 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Breast reconstruction | 236 days | 37 surgeries | not published |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of | 243 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Arthrodesis | 248 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery | 254 days | 77 surgeries | 36.4% |
| Blepharoplasty | 275 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Total knee replacement | 290 days | 101 surgeries | 34.7% |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty | 380 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 383 days | 603 surgeries | 53.6% |
| Pterygium - excision of | 387 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | 417 days | 46 surgeries | not published |
| Breast reduction | 659 days | 45 surgeries | not published |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroplasty - revision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Bladder neck incision | not published | not published | not published |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Cone biopsy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Cystectomy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Dacryocystorhinostomy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Endometrial ablation | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Ethmoidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Exostosis - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | not published | not published |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of | not published | not published | not published |
| Laryngectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Meatoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Microlaryngoscopy | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Myomectomy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) | not published | not published | not published |
| Nasal polypectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Nasendoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Nerve decompression | not published | not published | not published |
| Orchidectomy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) | not published | not published | not published |
| Ptosis - repair of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Rhinoplasty | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder reconstruction | not published | not published | not published |
| Stapedectomy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Sub-mucosal resection | not published | not published | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | not published | not published |
| Turbinectomy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Amputation of limb last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Corneal graft last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Coronary artery bypass grafting last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Craniotomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Laminectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Lymphangioma - surgery for last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Meniscectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Pleurodesis last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Tenotomy of hip last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Toenail surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 22 days | 68% | 2672 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 109 days | 39% | 2405 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 393 days | 43% | 1200 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 10 days for armpit lymph node removal to 659 days for breast reduction (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "The Queen Elizabeth Hospital waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-queen-elizabeth-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-queen-elizabeth-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in South Australia · All hospitals