Gawler Health Service surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Gawler area of South Australia published median waits from 13 days for bladder scope (cystoscopy) to 364 days for deviated septum surgery.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Gawler Health Service is a public hospital in the Gawler area of South Australia. It is part of Barossa Hills Fleurieu. It reported 52 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 25 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cystoscopy | 13 days | 190 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression | 14 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 14 days | 40 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroscopy | 15 days | 109 surgeries | 0.9% |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | 15 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 15 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 19 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 29 days | 100 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | 29 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 38 days | 29 surgeries | not published |
| Myringotomy | 40 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of | 44 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 48 days | 54 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 83 days | 481 surgeries | 21.4% |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 103 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Adenoidectomy | 249 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | 267 days | 31 surgeries | not published |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty | 284 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Septoplasty | 364 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthrodesis | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthroplasty - revision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | not published | not published |
| Endometrial ablation | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | not published | not published | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Meatoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Microlaryngoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Nasal cautery | not published | not published | not published |
| Nerve decompression | not published | not published | not published |
| Orchidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Osteotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Prostate biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Rhinoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Sub-mucosal resection | not published | not published | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Total knee replacement | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | not published | not published |
| Turbinectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Bladder neck incision last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Cone biopsy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Corneal graft last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Cystectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Ethmoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Female sterilisation last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Mastectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Mastoidectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Neonatal surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Scar revision last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Tenotomy of hip last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 14 days | 85% | 119 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 15 days | 89% | 398 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 55 days | 87% | 1007 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Gawler Health Service published median planned-surgery waits from 13 days for bladder scope (cystoscopy) to 364 days for deviated septum surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Gawler Health Service wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gawler-health-service/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gawler-health-service/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in South Australia · All hospitals