Cataract surgery waiting time at Longreach Hospital
Half of patients at Longreach Hospital waited 182 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Ilfracombe area of Queensland.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 182 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 100 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 5.0%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 84 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 84 days in 2015–16 to 182 days in 2024–25 — up 117% — while the national median rose from 93 days to 106 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Emerald Hospital, about 397 km away, at 71 days. Here, 5.0% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Longreach Hospital | 182 days | 5.0% | 100 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 268 days | 22.0% | 32695 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 82 days | 1.9% | 8868 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Emerald Hospital, QLD · about 397 km away: 71 days
Townsville University Hospital, QLD · about 526 km away: 99 days
Roma Hospital, QLD · about 573 km away: 114 days
Mount Isa Base Hospital, QLD · about 576 km away: 193 days
Rockhampton Hospital, QLD · about 636 km away: 123 days
Cairns Hospital, QLD · about 743 km away: 90 days
Bourke Multi Purpose Service, NSW · about 759 km away: 238 days
Moree Hospital, NSW · about 870 km away: 217 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 1000 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Longreach Hospital
- QLD
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Longreach Hospital (days) | QLD (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 51 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 44 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 52 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 57 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | 84 | 64 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | 139 | 70 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | 300 | 87 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | 126 | 72 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | 133 | 83 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | 162 | 84 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | 202 | 84 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 176 | 77 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 139 | 76 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 182 | 82 | 106 |
Queensland's quarterly figures for ophthalmology
These are not figures for cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion). Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Longreach.
- Patients treated
- 0 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Treated within the recommended time
- not publishedJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Still waiting at the end of the quarter
- 51 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Waiting longer than recommended
- 0 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Longreach Hospital · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in Queensland · All surgery waits in Queensland