Mount Isa Base Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Mornington area of Queensland published median waits from 1 day for adenoid removal to 223 days for pterygium (eye growth) removal.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Mount Isa Base Hospital is a public hospital in the Mornington area of Queensland. It is part of North West. It reported 29 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 36 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adenoidectomy | 1 day | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 11 days | 197 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 20 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | 21 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 25 days | 40 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 28 days | 62 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Herniorrhaphy | 55 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 193 days | 96 surgeries | 7.3% |
| Pterygium - excision of | 223 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | not published | not published | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | not published | not published |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | not published | not published | not published |
| Cystoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dialysis access surgery | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | not published | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | not published | not published | not published |
| Laparoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Myringotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) | not published | not published | not published |
| Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) | not published | not published | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Arthrodesis last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Corneal graft last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Mastectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Myomectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Orchidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Orchidopexy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Osteotomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Probing of naso-lacrimal duct last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Rotator cuff - repair of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Scar revision last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Tendon release last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2014–15 | not reported | ||
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Turbinectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 8 days | 95% | 236 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 31 days | 93% | 197 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 78 days | 94% | 157 surgeries |
Queensland's own quarterly figures
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Mount Isa.
| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 160 patients | 91.3% | 239 patients | 10 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 44 patients | 95.5% | 10 patients | 3 patients |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 55 patients | 92.7% | 49 patients | 2 patients |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 61 patients | 86.9% | 180 patients | 5 patients |
By surgical specialty
Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General surgery | 74 patients | 97.3% | 37 patients | 2 patients |
| Gynaecology | 29 patients | 100.0% | 20 patients | 0 patients |
| Ophthalmology | 52 patients | 76.9% | 175 patients | 8 patients |
| Orthopaedic surgery | 5 patients | 100.0% | 7 patients | 0 patients |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Mount Isa Base Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 1 day for adenoid removal to 223 days for pterygium (eye growth) removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Mount Isa Base Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-isa-base-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-isa-base-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Queensland · All hospitals