Longreach Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Ilfracombe area of Queensland published median waits from 27 days for skin lesion removal to 182 days for cataract surgery.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Longreach Hospital is a public hospital in the Ilfracombe area of Queensland. It is part of Central West. It reported 28 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 32 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Skin lesion - excision of | 27 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 60 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 78 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 182 days | 100 surgeries | 5.0% |
| Adenoidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthroscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Blepharoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | not published | not published |
| Cone biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dacryocystorhinostomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dialysis access surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | not published | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | not published | not published | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | not published | not published | not published |
| Pterygium - excision of | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Ptosis - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Arthrodesis last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Cystoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Ethmoidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Myomectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Orchidectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Osteotomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Rhinoplasty last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Septoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Sub-mucosal resection last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Tendon release last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Turbinectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 7 days | 90% | 39 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 70 days | 92% | 48 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 173 days | 97% | 170 surgeries |
Queensland's own quarterly figures
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Longreach.
| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 41 patients | 85.4% | 131 patients | 6 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 7 patients | 85.7% | 1 patient | 1 patient |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 18 patients | 83.3% | 22 patients | 1 patient |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 16 patients | 87.5% | 108 patients | 4 patients |
By surgical specialty
Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ENT surgery | 5 patients | 100.0% | 5 patients | 0 patients |
| General surgery | 10 patients | 70.0% | 37 patients | 5 patients |
| Gynaecology | 15 patients | 93.3% | 19 patients | 1 patient |
| Ophthalmology | 0 patients | not published | 51 patients | 0 patients |
| Orthopaedic surgery | 11 patients | 81.8% | 8 patients | 0 patients |
| Other surgery | 0 patients | not published | 11 patients | 0 patients |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Longreach Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 27 days for skin lesion removal to 182 days for cataract surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Longreach Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/longreach-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/longreach-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Queensland · All hospitals