Rockhampton Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Wandal area of Queensland published median waits from 20 days for dialysis access surgery to 562 days for knee replacement.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Rockhampton Hospital is a public hospital in the Wandal area of Queensland. It is part of Central Queensland. It reported 66 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 49 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dialysis access surgery | 20 days | 31 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 23 days | 360 surgeries | 1.7% |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 26 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Mastectomy | 26 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | 30 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | 32 days | 80 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 36 days | 210 surgeries | 2.4% |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 37 days | 74 surgeries | 2.7% |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | 37 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| Cystoscopy | 43 days | 44 surgeries | not published |
| Total hip replacement | 54 days | 37 surgeries | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | 59 days | 35 surgeries | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | 70 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 72 days | 95 surgeries | 2.1% |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 78 days | 45 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | 119 days | 35 surgeries | not published |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | 122 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 123 days | 304 surgeries | 22.0% |
| Pterygium - excision of | 128 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 186 days | 35 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 194 days | 50 surgeries | 14.0% |
| Arthroscopy | 197 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | 224 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| Arthrodesis | 281 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Female sterilisation | 285 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Total knee replacement | 562 days | 41 surgeries | not published |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression | not published | not published | not published |
| Amputation of limb | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthroplasty - revision of | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage | not published | not published | not published |
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Blepharoplasty | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast reduction | not published | not published | not published |
| Chalazion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | not published | not published |
| Cone biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | not published | not published | not published |
| Dacryocystorhinostomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Discectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | not published | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Exostosis - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Fundoplication | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Lithotripsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of | not published | not published | not published |
| Myomectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Orchidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Osteotomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Probing of naso-lacrimal duct | not published | not published | not published |
| Prostate biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Ptosis - repair of | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Scar revision | not published | not published | not published |
| Shoulder reconstruction | not published | not published | not published |
| Stress incontinence surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Bladder neck incision last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Breast reconstruction last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Cystectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Ethmoidectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Laminectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Laryngectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Mastoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Meniscectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Microlaryngoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Nephrectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression of spinal cord last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Orchidopexy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Parathyroidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Pedicle screw fusion last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Pharyngoplasty last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Pharynx - excision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Rhinoplasty last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Septoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder joint replacement last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Turbinectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 20 days | 78% | 1122 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 117 days | 35% | 870 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 385 days | 42% | 346 surgeries |
Queensland's own quarterly figures
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Rockhampton.
| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 561 patients | 57.0% | 2486 patients | 1156 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 302 patients | 74.5% | 128 patients | 19 patients |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 189 patients | 39.7% | 945 patients | 596 patients |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 70 patients | 28.6% | 1413 patients | 541 patients |
By surgical specialty
Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ENT surgery | 0 patients | not published | 597 patients | 549 patients |
| General surgery | 200 patients | 62.0% | 605 patients | 253 patients |
| Gynaecology | 135 patients | 71.1% | 312 patients | 75 patients |
| Ophthalmology | 62 patients | 16.1% | 329 patients | 65 patients |
| Orthopaedic surgery | 114 patients | 54.4% | 579 patients | 197 patients |
| Urology | 50 patients | 56.0% | 64 patients | 17 patients |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Rockhampton Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 20 days for dialysis access surgery to 562 days for knee replacement (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Rockhampton Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/rockhampton-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/rockhampton-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Queensland · All hospitals