Moree Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Moree area of New South Wales published median waits from 13 days for carpal tunnel surgery to 253 days for pterygium (eye growth) removal.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Moree Hospital is a public hospital in the Moree area of New South Wales. It is part of Hunter New England. It reported 22 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 29 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carpal tunnel release | 13 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 14 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 14 days | 51 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 217 days | 132 surgeries | 10.6% |
| Pterygium - excision of | 253 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Blepharoplasty | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | not published | not published |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | not published | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Exostosis - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | not published | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Myringotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of | not published | not published | not published |
| Ptosis - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Arthroscopy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Cystectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Cystoscopy last reported 2011–12 | not reported | ||
| Dermoid cyst - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Dialysis access surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Meniscectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Nasal cautery last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2013–14 | not reported | ||
| Septoplasty last reported 2015–16 | not reported | ||
| Tendon release last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 8 days | 100% | 54 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 22 days | 90% | 111 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 270 days | 88% | 133 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Moree Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 13 days for carpal tunnel surgery to 253 days for pterygium (eye growth) removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Moree Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/moree-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/moree-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in New South Wales · All hospitals