Cataract surgery waiting time at The Northern Hospital [Epping]
Half of patients at The Northern Hospital [Epping] waited 88 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Lalor area of Victoria.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 88 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 21 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 49 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has fallen from 316 days in 2011–12 to 88 days in 2024–25 — down 72% — while the national median rose from 89 days to 106 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Royal Children's Hospital [Parkville], about 17 km away, at 27 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Northern Hospital [Epping] | 88 days | not published | 21 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 68 days | 4.7% | 21008 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Broadmeadows Health Service, VIC · about 10 km away: 92 days
Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital [Heidelberg West], VIC · about 12 km away: 134 days
Royal Children's Hospital [Parkville], VIC · about 17 km away: 27 days
Royal Melbourne Hospital [City Campus], VIC · about 17 km away: 88 days
The Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital, VIC · about 18 km away: 48 days
Sunshine Hospital, VIC · about 21 km away: 211 days
The Alfred, VIC · about 22 km away: 36 days
Sunbury Day Hospital, VIC · about 26 km away: 174 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- The Northern Hospital [Epping]
- VIC
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | The Northern Hospital [Epping] (days) | VIC (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | 316 | 61 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not published | 52 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 41 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not published | 35 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 56 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not published | 41 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 40 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | not published | 36 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 49 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | not published | 79 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | not published | 84 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | not reported for this period | 77 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 147 | 89 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 88 | 68 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at The Northern Hospital [Epping] · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in Victoria · All surgery waits in Victoria