Cataract surgery waiting time at Goulburn Valley Health [Shepparton]
Half of patients at Goulburn Valley Health [Shepparton] waited 3 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Shepparton area of Victoria.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 3 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 131 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 0.0%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 2 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has fallen from 172 days in 2019–20 to 3 days in 2024–25 — down 98% — while the national median rose from 98 days to 106 days. No public hospital nearby published a shorter median for this surgery in this period. Here, 0.0% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Goulburn Valley Health [Shepparton] | 3 days | 0.0% | 131 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 68 days | 4.7% | 21008 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
The Bendigo Hospital, VIC · about 109 km away: 234 days
Albury Wodonga Health [Wodonga Campus], VIC · about 135 km away: 365 days
Sunbury Day Hospital, VIC · about 148 km away: 174 days
The Northern Hospital [Epping], VIC · about 148 km away: 88 days
Broadmeadows Health Service, VIC · about 153 km away: 92 days
Yarra Ranges Health, VIC · about 155 km away: 87 days
Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital [Heidelberg West], VIC · about 158 km away: 134 days
Sunshine Hospital, VIC · about 164 km away: 211 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Goulburn Valley Health [Shepparton]
- VIC
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Goulburn Valley Health [Shepparton] (days) | VIC (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 61 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 52 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 41 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 35 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 56 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not published | 41 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 40 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 36 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | 172 | 49 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | 143 | 79 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | 161 | 84 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 170 | 77 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 167 | 89 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 3 | 68 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Goulburn Valley Health [Shepparton] · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in Victoria · All surgery waits in Victoria