Carpal tunnel surgery waiting time at Yarra Ranges Health
Half of patients at Yarra Ranges Health waited 60 days or less for carpal tunnel surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Carpal tunnel release". This public hospital is in the Lilydale area of Victoria.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 60 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 48 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 160 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 61 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has fallen from 170 days in 2021–22 to 60 days in 2024–25 — down 65% — while the national median fell from 82 days to 71 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Maroondah Hospital [East Ringwood], about 10 km away, at 52 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Carpal tunnel release" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yarra Ranges Health | 60 days | not published | 48 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 53 days | 3.5% | 2456 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 71 days | 5.2% | 9994 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 71 days marks the national median.
Maroondah Hospital [East Ringwood], VIC · about 10 km away: 52 days
Angliss Hospital, VIC · about 16 km away: 83 days
Blackburn Public Surgical Centre, VIC · about 19 km away: 60 days
Healesville Hospital and Yarra Valley Health, VIC · about 20 km away: 53 days
Box Hill Hospital, VIC · about 21 km away: 56 days
Monash Medical Centre [Clayton], VIC · about 25 km away: 44 days
Austin Hospital [Heidelberg], VIC · about 26 km away: 100 days
Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital [Heidelberg West], VIC · about 27 km away: 138 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Yarra Ranges Health
- VIC
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Yarra Ranges Health (days) | VIC (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 42 | 56 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 45 | 61 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 41 | 62 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 52 | 70 |
| 2020–21 | not reported for this period | 87 | 80 |
| 2021–22 | 170 | 85 | 82 |
| 2022–23 | 131 | 80 | 83 |
| 2023–24 | 79 | 54 | 72 |
| 2024–25 | 60 | 53 | 71 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Yarra Ranges Health · Carpal tunnel surgery across Australia · Carpal tunnel surgery in Victoria · All surgery waits in Victoria