Werribee Mercy Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Hoppers Crossing area of Victoria published median waits from 14 days for breast lump removal to 370 days for knee replacement.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Werribee Mercy Hospital is a public hospital in the Hoppers Crossing area of Victoria. It is part of Mercy Public Hospital Inc.. It reported 56 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 35 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | 14 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | 19 days | 43 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 20 days | 553 surgeries | 1.4% |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | 21 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | 23 days | 40 surgeries | not published |
| Cystoscopy | 24 days | 579 surgeries | 0.7% |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of | 26 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 31 days | 43 surgeries | not published |
| Toenail surgery | 42 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| Orchidopexy | 49 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 55 days | 141 surgeries | 4.3% |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | 56 days | 64 surgeries | 9.4% |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 66 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 71 days | 183 surgeries | 10.4% |
| Arthroscopy | 72 days | 48 surgeries | not published |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | 86 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| Circumcision | 104 days | 48 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | 120 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 125 days | 123 surgeries | 15.4% |
| Lithotripsy | 151 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | 161 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 183 days | 59 surgeries | 15.3% |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 189 days | 129 surgeries | 14.0% |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | 265 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Total hip replacement | 274 days | 30 surgeries | not published |
| Total knee replacement | 370 days | 65 surgeries | 53.8% |
| Arthrodesis | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthroplasty - revision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast reduction | not published | not published | not published |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Cystectomy | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | not published | not published |
| Endometrial ablation | not published | not published | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Femoro-popliteal bypass graft | not published | not published | not published |
| Fundoplication | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Lymphangioma - surgery for | not published | not published | not published |
| Mastectomy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Meatoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Meniscectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Myomectomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Orchidectomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Osteotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Parathyroidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Prostate biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction | not published | not published | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder joint replacement | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder reconstruction | not published | not published | not published |
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Ureteric - reimplantation | not published | not published | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | not published | not published |
| Varicose veins treatment | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Amputation of limb last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Breast reconstruction last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Cleft lip and palate - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Congenital cardiac defect/s - procedure for last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Corneal graft last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Ethmoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Female sterilisation last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nasal cautery last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Posterior fossa decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Rhinoplasty last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Scar revision last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Septoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Sub-mucosal resection last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Turbinectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 16 days | 100% | 1330 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 90 days | 50% | 1634 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 206 days | 68% | 332 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Werribee Mercy Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 14 days for breast lump removal to 370 days for knee replacement (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Werribee Mercy Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/werribee-mercy-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/werribee-mercy-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Victoria · All hospitals