Deviated septum surgery waiting time at Sunshine Coast University Hospital
Half of patients at Sunshine Coast University Hospital waited 258 days or less for deviated septum surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Septoplasty". This public hospital is in the Birtinya area of Queensland.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 258 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 106 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 14.2%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 103 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 41 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 60 days in 2016–17 to 258 days in 2024–25 — up 330% — while the national median rose from 209 days to 320 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Nambour General Hospital, about 21 km away, at 229 days. Here, 14.2% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 30.8%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Septoplasty" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sunshine Coast University Hospital | 258 days | 14.2% | 106 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 317 days | 18.9% | 801 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 320 days | 30.8% | 5687 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 320 days marks the national median.
Nambour General Hospital, QLD · about 21 km away: 229 days
Redcliffe Hospital, QLD · about 54 km away: 252 days
Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital, QLD · about 78 km away: 395 days
Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service, QLD · about 79 km away: 337 days
Queensland Children's Hospital, QLD · about 82 km away: 289 days
Mater Adult Hospital, QLD · about 83 km away: 343 days
Logan Hospital, QLD · about 103 km away: 350 days
Ipswich Hospital, QLD · about 103 km away: 178 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Sunshine Coast University Hospital
- QLD
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Sunshine Coast University Hospital (days) | QLD (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 60 | 160 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 76 | 197 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 87 | 221 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 84 | 214 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 97 | 209 |
| 2016–17 | 60 | 173 | 209 |
| 2017–18 | 204 | 302 | 248 |
| 2018–19 | 314 | 319 | 241 |
| 2019–20 | 329 | 314 | 277 |
| 2020–21 | 330 | 318 | 330 |
| 2021–22 | 441 | 309 | 315 |
| 2022–23 | 572 | 342 | 365 |
| 2023–24 | 210 | 282 | 332 |
| 2024–25 | 258 | 317 | 320 |
Queensland's quarterly figures for ENT surgery
These are not figures for septoplasty. Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Sunshine Coast University.
- Patients treated
- 342 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Treated within the recommended time
- 80.4%July to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Still waiting at the end of the quarter
- 993 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Waiting longer than recommended
- 140 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Sunshine Coast University Hospital · Deviated septum surgery across Australia · Deviated septum surgery in Queensland · All surgery waits in Queensland