Nambour General Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Nambour area of Queensland published median waits from 2 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 295 days for knee replacement.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Nambour General Hospital is a public hospital in the Nambour area of Queensland. It is part of Sunshine Coast. It reported 59 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 50 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | 2 days | 36 surgeries | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | 24 days | 90 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Cone biopsy | 25 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Mastectomy | 26 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Prostate biopsy | 27 days | 341 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Cystoscopy | 28 days | 266 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | 28 days | 30 surgeries | not published |
| Scar revision | 28 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 28 days | 490 surgeries | 0.2% |
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of | 30 days | 87 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 46 days | 182 surgeries | 1.6% |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 61 days | 107 surgeries | 0.9% |
| Circumcision | 63 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | 67 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 71 days | 170 surgeries | 0.6% |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 81 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | 81 days | 33 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 95 days | 145 surgeries | 15.2% |
| Laparoscopy | 96 days | 65 surgeries | 12.3% |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | 96 days | 49 surgeries | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 97 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | 107 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| Osteotomy | 109 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroscopy | 111 days | 67 surgeries | 13.4% |
| Arthrodesis | 116 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | 136 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | 160 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| Parathyroidectomy | 163 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | 168 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| Female sterilisation | 174 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder joint replacement | 178 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 187 days | 98 surgeries | 2.0% |
| Septoplasty | 229 days | 38 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder reconstruction | 263 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Total hip replacement | 294 days | 69 surgeries | 21.7% |
| Total knee replacement | 295 days | 126 surgeries | 23.8% |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroplasty - revision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage | not published | not published | not published |
| Bladder neck incision | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Breast reduction | not published | not published | not published |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | not published | not published | not published |
| Common peroneal nerve release | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Dialysis access surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Fundoplication | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Meatoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Nasal polypectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Orchidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Orchidopexy | not published | not published | not published |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Rhinoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Turbinectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of | not published | not published | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Abdominal or thoracic aortic aneurysm - repair/replacement last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Amputation of limb last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Carotid endarterectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Cystectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Discectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Hypospadias - repair of last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Laminectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Lithotripsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Mastoidectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Meniscectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Microlaryngoscopy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Myomectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Nephrectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Pterygium - excision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Replacement of aortic aneurysm with bifurcation graft last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Sub-mucosal resection last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 25 days | 75% | 1411 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 67 days | 77% | 1263 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 260 days | 81% | 842 surgeries |
Queensland's own quarterly figures
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Nambour.
| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 975 patients | 74.3% | 1553 patients | 108 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 482 patients | 83.6% | 101 patients | 1 patient |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 297 patients | 70.0% | 371 patients | 47 patients |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 196 patients | 57.7% | 1081 patients | 60 patients |
By surgical specialty
Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ENT surgery | 30 patients | 96.7% | 19 patients | 1 patient |
| General surgery | 283 patients | 76.7% | 549 patients | 16 patients |
| Gynaecology | 109 patients | 73.4% | 112 patients | 13 patients |
| Orthopaedic surgery | 213 patients | 54.5% | 696 patients | 75 patients |
| Plastic & reconstructive surgery | 75 patients | 90.7% | 27 patients | 2 patients |
| Urology | 265 patients | 80.8% | 148 patients | 1 patient |
| Vascular surgery | 0 patients | not published | 2 patients | 0 patients |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Nambour General Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 2 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 295 days for knee replacement (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Nambour General Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/nambour-general-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/nambour-general-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Queensland · All hospitals