Queensland Children's Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the South Brisbane area of Queensland published median waits from 4 days for pectus surgery to 325 days for turbinate surgery (inside the nose).
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Queensland Children's Hospital is a public hospital in the South Brisbane area of Queensland. It is part of Children's Health Queensland. It reported 88 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 40 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pectus surgery | 4 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Insertion of ventricular peritoneal shunt | 6 days | 35 surgeries | not published |
| Nephrectomy | 7 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Craniotomy | 8 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of | 9 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| Heart valve replacement | 14 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Dialysis access surgery | 15 days | 142 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 21 days | 210 surgeries | 1.0% |
| Untethering of spinal cord | 33 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of | 37 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | 40 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 48 days | 33 surgeries | not published |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia | 49 days | 296 surgeries | 0.7% |
| Myringotomy | 49 days | 590 surgeries | 0.2% |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) | 49 days | 590 surgeries | 0.2% |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | 49 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery | 52 days | 31 surgeries | not published |
| Adenoidectomy | 53 days | 386 surgeries | 0.8% |
| Cleft lip and palate - repair of | 53 days | 121 surgeries | 2.5% |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of | 56 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction | 58 days | 32 surgeries | not published |
| Tendon release | 58 days | 34 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 59 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| Toenail surgery | 59 days | 47 surgeries | not published |
| Cranioplasty | 60 days | 32 surgeries | not published |
| Probing of naso-lacrimal duct | 60 days | 67 surgeries | 1.5% |
| Arthroscopy | 64 days | 64 surgeries | 4.7% |
| Cystoscopy | 65 days | 183 surgeries | 1.6% |
| Nasendoscopy | 69 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Orchidopexy | 74 days | 70 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 75 days | 193 surgeries | 5.7% |
| Total hip replacement | 78 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | 80 days | 961 surgeries | 1.9% |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 87 days | 58 surgeries | 3.4% |
| Circumcision | 88 days | 148 surgeries | 8.8% |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of | 89 days | 93 surgeries | 2.2% |
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of | 90 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | 100 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| Osteotomy | 101 days | 136 surgeries | 11.0% |
| Scar revision | 106 days | 31 surgeries | not published |
| Hypospadias - repair of | 111 days | 84 surgeries | 7.1% |
| Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) | 126 days | 242 surgeries | 14.5% |
| Rhinoplasty | 144 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 151 days | 58 surgeries | 6.9% |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | 182 days | 31 surgeries | not published |
| Septoplasty | 289 days | 32 surgeries | not published |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty | 294 days | 47 surgeries | not published |
| Ptosis - repair of | 307 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Turbinectomy | 325 days | 57 surgeries | 5.3% |
| Amputation of limb | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthrodesis | not published | not published | not published |
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast reduction | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | not published | not published | not published |
| Chalazion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Common peroneal nerve release | not published | not published | not published |
| Corneal graft | not published | not published | not published |
| Dacryocystorhinostomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Diathermy of wart/s | not published | not published | not published |
| Discectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | not published | not published | not published |
| Exostosis - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Fundoplication | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Lithotripsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Lymphangioma - surgery for | not published | not published | not published |
| Mastectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Mastoidectomy | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Meatoplasty | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Meniscectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Microlaryngoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Nasal cautery | not published | not published | not published |
| Pharyngoplasty | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Posterior fossa decompression | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Removal of intracranial lesion | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia | not published | not published | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder reconstruction | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Tenotomy of hip | not published | not published | not published |
| Total knee replacement | not published | not published | not published |
| Ureteric - reimplantation | not published | not published | not published |
| Urethra - dilatation of | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Arthroplasty - revision of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Bladder neck incision last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Breast reconstruction last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Cerebral haematoma - evacuation of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Cervical discectomy and fusion last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Chiari malformation decompression last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Congenital pulmonary lesion - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Coronary artery bypass grafting last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Dermoid cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Dupytren's contracture release last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Ethmoidectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Laminectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression of spinal cord last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Orchidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Parathyroidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Pedicle screw fusion last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Pleurodesis last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Radical neck dissection last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Rotator cuff - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder joint replacement last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Stapedectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Sub-mucosal resection last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 7 days | 98% | 1966 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 58 days | 79% | 4705 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 240 days | 89% | 2510 surgeries |
Queensland's own quarterly figures
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Queensland Children's.
| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 2526 patients | 87.1% | 3226 patients | 216 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 522 patients | 98.5% | 49 patients | 0 patients |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 1247 patients | 80.3% | 1045 patients | 139 patients |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 757 patients | 90.6% | 2132 patients | 77 patients |
By surgical specialty
Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardio-thoracic surgery | 69 patients | 98.6% | 33 patients | 0 patients |
| ENT surgery | 803 patients | 94.0% | 1078 patients | 23 patients |
| General surgery | 676 patients | 88.2% | 565 patients | 54 patients |
| Neurosurgery | 46 patients | 97.8% | 23 patients | 0 patients |
| Ophthalmology | 233 patients | 93.1% | 259 patients | 4 patients |
| Orthopaedic surgery | 447 patients | 74.3% | 737 patients | 61 patients |
| Other surgery | 0 patients | not published | 0 patients | 0 patients |
| Plastic & reconstructive surgery | 252 patients | 74.6% | 531 patients | 74 patients |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Queensland Children's Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 4 days for pectus surgery to 325 days for turbinate surgery (inside the nose) (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Queensland Children's Hospital waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/queensland-childrens-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/queensland-childrens-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Queensland · All hospitals