Surgery Waits

North Canberra Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Bruce area of Australian Capital Territory published median waits from 22 days for breast removal to 446 days for knee replacement.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

North Canberra Hospital is a public hospital in the Bruce area of Australian Capital Territory. It is part of Australian Capital Territory. It reported 30 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 55 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at North Canberra Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.
Surgery Median wait Surgeries Waited more than 365 days
Mastectomy 22 days 84 surgeries 2.4%
Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy 40 days 14 surgeries not published
Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) 87 days 44 surgeries not published
Female sterilisation 109 days 10 surgeries not published
Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy 109 days 50 surgeries 0.0%
Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) 136 days 24 surgeries not published
Total hip replacement 168 days 31 surgeries not published
Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia 176 days 15 surgeries not published
Shoulder joint replacement 182 days 43 surgeries not published
Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy 191 days 130 surgeries 17.7%
Herniorrhaphy 199 days 110 surgeries 20.9%
Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior 258 days 10 surgeries not published
Septoplasty 317 days 55 surgeries 41.8%
Total knee replacement 446 days 62 surgeries 83.9%
Arthroplasty - revision of not published not published not published
Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection not published not published not published
Dialysis access surgery not published not published not published
Dupytren's contracture release not published not published not published
Ectropion - correction of not published not published not published
Haemorrhoidectomy not published 5 surgeries not published
Parathyroidectomy not published not published not published
Rotator cuff - repair of not published 9 surgeries not published
Scar revision not published not published not published
Shoulder reconstruction not published 9 surgeries not published
Stress incontinence surgery not published not published not published
Sub-mucosal resection not published not published not published
Toenail surgery not published not published not published
Trabeculectomy not published 6 surgeries not published
Turbinectomy not published not published not published
Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) not published not published not published
Not reported for this period
Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2023–24 not reported
Adenoidectomy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction last reported 2023–24 not reported
Arthrodesis last reported 2023–24 not reported
Arthroscopy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Bladder neck incision last reported 2023–24 not reported
Blepharoplasty last reported 2023–24 not reported
Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Breast reduction last reported 2023–24 not reported
Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Carpal tunnel release last reported 2023–24 not reported
Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) last reported 2023–24 not reported
Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) last reported 2023–24 not reported
Circumcision last reported 2023–24 not reported
Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2023–24 not reported
Cone biopsy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Corneal graft last reported 2023–24 not reported
Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2023–24 not reported
Cystoscopy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Dacryocystorhinostomy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Endometrial ablation last reported 2023–24 not reported
Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Ethmoidectomy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2023–24 not reported
Exostosis - excision of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Fundoplication last reported 2023–24 not reported
Ganglion - excision of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Laparoscopy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2023–24 not reported
Lithotripsy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Meniscectomy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Myomectomy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2023–24 not reported
Nasal polypectomy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Orchidectomy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Orchidopexy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 not reported
Prostate biopsy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2023–24 not reported
Pterygium - excision of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Ptosis - repair of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Skin lesion - excision of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Stone/s urinary tract - removal of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Tendon release last reported 2023–24 not reported
Tenotomy of hip last reported 2023–24 not reported
Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2023–24 not reported
Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Varicose veins treatment last reported 2023–24 not reported

Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.

All planned surgery at North Canberra Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.
Urgency category Median wait Treated within the recommended time Surgeries
Urgent 24 days 66% 2811 surgeries
Semi-urgent 69 days 69% 2176 surgeries
Non-urgent 238 days 73% 2260 surgeries
Cite this page

In 2024–25, North Canberra Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 22 days for breast removal to 446 days for knee replacement (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

Copy-ready citation

Surgery Waits, "North Canberra Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/north-canberra-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.

Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/north-canberra-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Australian Capital Territory · All hospitals