Shock wave stone treatment waiting time at Murwillumbah District Hospital
Half of patients at Murwillumbah District Hospital waited 45 days or less for shock wave stone treatment in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Lithotripsy". This public hospital is in the South Murwillumbah area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 45 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 18 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 49 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 32 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 32 days in 2023–24 to 45 days in 2024–25 — up 41% — while the national median stayed at 28 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Tweed Valley Hospital, about 22 km away, at 29 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Lithotripsy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Murwillumbah District Hospital | 45 days | not published | 18 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 28 days | 0.7% | 1134 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 57 days | 1.7% | 289 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 28 days | 0.8% | 2881 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 28 days marks the national median.
Tweed Valley Hospital, NSW · about 22 km away: 29 days
Gold Coast University Hospital, QLD · about 41 km away: 85 days
Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Hospital, QLD · about 92 km away: 104 days
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 98 km away: 23 days
Mater Adult Hospital, QLD · about 100 km away: 147 days
The Prince Charles Hospital, QLD · about 110 km away: 62 days
Coffs Harbour Hospital, NSW · about 224 km away: 25 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Murwillumbah District Hospital
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Murwillumbah District Hospital (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 34 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 29 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 36 | 36 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 27 | 28 |
| 2020–21 | not published | 31 | 34 |
| 2021–22 | not published | 27 | 33 |
| 2022–23 | not published | 28 | 30 |
| 2023–24 | 32 | 28 | 28 |
| 2024–25 | 45 | 28 | 28 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Murwillumbah District Hospital · Shock wave stone treatment across Australia · Shock wave stone treatment in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales