Shock wave stone treatment waiting time at Tweed Valley Hospital
Half of patients at Tweed Valley Hospital waited 29 days or less for shock wave stone treatment in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Lithotripsy". This public hospital is in the Tweed Heads area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 29 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 90 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 0.0%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 49 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 21 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 15 days in 2018–19 to 29 days in 2024–25 — up 93% — while the national median fell from 36 days to 28 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Princess Alexandra Hospital, about 91 km away, at 23 days. Here, 0.0% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 0.8%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Lithotripsy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tweed Valley Hospital | 29 days | 0.0% | 90 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 28 days | 0.7% | 1134 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 57 days | 1.7% | 289 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 28 days | 0.8% | 2881 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 28 days marks the national median.
Murwillumbah District Hospital, NSW · about 22 km away: 45 days
Gold Coast University Hospital, QLD · about 29 km away: 85 days
Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Hospital, QLD · about 84 km away: 104 days
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 91 km away: 23 days
Mater Adult Hospital, QLD · about 92 km away: 147 days
The Prince Charles Hospital, QLD · about 102 km away: 62 days
Coffs Harbour Hospital, NSW · about 242 km away: 25 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Tweed Valley Hospital
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Tweed Valley Hospital (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 34 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 29 |
| 2018–19 | 15 | 36 | 36 |
| 2019–20 | 16 | 27 | 28 |
| 2020–21 | 20 | 31 | 34 |
| 2021–22 | 21 | 27 | 33 |
| 2022–23 | 24 | 28 | 30 |
| 2023–24 | 25 | 28 | 28 |
| 2024–25 | 29 | 28 | 28 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Tweed Valley Hospital · Shock wave stone treatment across Australia · Shock wave stone treatment in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales