Squint surgery waiting time at Monash Medical Centre [Clayton]
Half of patients at Monash Medical Centre [Clayton] waited 153 days or less for squint surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Procedure for strabismus (squint repair)". This public hospital is in the Springvale area of Victoria.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 153 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 18 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 25 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 14 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 49 days in 2023–24 to 153 days in 2024–25 — up 212% — while the national median rose from 141 days to 155 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is The Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital, about 21 km away, at 81 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Procedure for strabismus (squint repair)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monash Medical Centre [Clayton] | 153 days | not published | 18 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 281 days | 25.4% | 264 surgeries |
| South Australia (all public hospitals) | 154 days | 16.2% | 105 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 93 days | 12.3% | 114 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 155 days | 14.4% | 1087 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 155 days marks the national median.
The Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital, VIC · about 21 km away: 81 days
Royal Children's Hospital [Parkville], VIC · about 23 km away: 77 days
University Hospital Geelong, VIC · about 74 km away: 94 days
Orange Health Service, NSW · about 624 km away: 285 days
Campbelltown Hospital, NSW · about 664 km away: 169 days
Flinders Medical Centre, SA · about 672 km away: 164 days
Women's and Children's Hospital, SA · about 676 km away: 128 days
Royal Adelaide Hospital, SA · about 676 km away: 140 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 1000 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Monash Medical Centre [Clayton]
- VIC
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Monash Medical Centre [Clayton] (days) | VIC (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 58 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 71 | 101 |
| 2018–19 | not published | 122 | 123 |
| 2019–20 | not published | 149 | 146 |
| 2020–21 | not published | 131 | 168 |
| 2021–22 | not published | 137 | 174 |
| 2022–23 | not published | 123 | 212 |
| 2023–24 | 49 | not published | 141 |
| 2024–25 | 153 | 93 | 155 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Monash Medical Centre [Clayton] · Squint surgery across Australia · Squint surgery in Victoria · All surgery waits in Victoria