Examination of eye under anaesthesia waiting time at Monash Medical Centre [Clayton]
Half of patients at Monash Medical Centre [Clayton] waited 23 days or less for examination of eye under anaesthesia in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). This public hospital is in the Springvale area of Victoria.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 23 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 10 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 11 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 3 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Royal Children's Hospital [Parkville], about 23 km away, at 21 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Examination of eye under anaesthesia" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monash Medical Centre [Clayton] | 23 days | not published | 10 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 43 days | 2.4% | 167 surgeries |
| South Australia (all public hospitals) | not published | not published | 84 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 21 days | 3.7% | 296 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 34 days | 2.3% | 1020 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 34 days marks the national median.
Royal Children's Hospital [Parkville], VIC · about 23 km away: 21 days
Albury Wodonga Health [Wodonga Campus], VIC · about 251 km away: 8 days
Flinders Medical Centre, SA · about 672 km away: 26 days
Women's and Children's Hospital, SA · about 676 km away: 38 days
The Children's Hospital at Westmead, NSW · about 697 km away: 43 days
Sydney Children's Hospital, NSW · about 706 km away: 25 days
John Hunter Hospital, NSW · about 812 km away: 52 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 1000 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Monash Medical Centre [Clayton]
- VIC
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Monash Medical Centre [Clayton] (days) | VIC (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 16 | 29 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 21 | 31 |
| 2018–19 | not published | 28 | 41 |
| 2019–20 | not published | 22 | 39 |
| 2020–21 | not published | 22 | 35 |
| 2021–22 | not published | 23 | 42 |
| 2022–23 | not published | 27 | 40 |
| 2023–24 | not published | 22 | 35 |
| 2024–25 | 23 | 21 | 34 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Monash Medical Centre [Clayton] · Examination of eye under anaesthesia across Australia · Examination of eye under anaesthesia in Victoria · All surgery waits in Victoria