Kununurra Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Kununurra area of Western Australia published median waits from 6 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 258 days for cataract surgery.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Kununurra Hospital is a public hospital in the Kununurra area of Western Australia. It is part of WA Country Health Service. It reported 32 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 30 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | 6 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 31 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of | 67 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 90 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Myringotomy | 92 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 96 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty | 215 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Pterygium - excision of | 227 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 258 days | 72 surgeries | 8.3% |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression | not published | not published | not published |
| Adenoidectomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthroscopy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | not published | not published | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | not published | not published |
| Dialysis access surgery | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | not published | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | not published | not published | not published |
| Exostosis - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Meniscectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) | not published | not published | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | not published | not published |
| Turbinectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Arthrodesis last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Cystoscopy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Osteotomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Scar revision last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Septoplasty last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Tendon release last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 8 days | 85% | 39 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 80 days | 68% | 91 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 290 days | 89% | 151 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Kununurra Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 6 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 258 days for cataract surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Kununurra Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kununurra-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kununurra-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Western Australia · All hospitals