Surgery Waits

Derby Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Derby area of Western Australia published median waits from 3 days for eardrum drainage to 82 days for cataract surgery.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Derby Hospital is a public hospital in the Derby area of Western Australia. It is part of WA Country Health Service. It reported 25 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 35 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Derby Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.
Surgery Median wait Surgeries Waited more than 365 days
Myringotomy 3 days 18 surgeries not published
Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of 3 days 18 surgeries not published
Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) 82 days 84 surgeries 2.4%
Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression not published 6 surgeries not published
Adenoidectomy not published not published not published
Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction not published not published not published
Arthrodesis not published not published not published
Arthroscopy not published 8 surgeries not published
Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) not published 9 surgeries not published
Circumcision not published not published not published
Curettage and evacuation of uterus not published not published not published
Ectropion - correction of not published not published not published
Epididymal cyst - removal of not published not published not published
Haemorrhoidectomy not published not published not published
Herniorrhaphy not published 5 surgeries not published
Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy not published 5 surgeries not published
Laparoscopy not published not published not published
Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) not published not published not published
Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy not published not published not published
Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty not published 8 surgeries not published
Osteotomy not published not published not published
Pterygium - excision of not published 6 surgeries not published
Scar revision not published not published not published
Skin lesion - excision of not published 9 surgeries not published
Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) not published 6 surgeries not published
Not reported for this period
Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2019–20 not reported
Axillary node dissection last reported 2017–18 not reported
Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2016–17 not reported
Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2022–23 not reported
Blepharoplasty last reported 2017–18 not reported
Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2019–20 not reported
Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Carpal tunnel release last reported 2023–24 not reported
Corneal graft last reported 2019–20 not reported
Cystoscopy last reported 2019–20 not reported
Dialysis access surgery last reported 2020–21 not reported
Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2018–19 not reported
Female sterilisation last reported 2023–24 not reported
Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Ganglion - excision of last reported 2021–22 not reported
Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2020–21 not reported
Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2021–22 not reported
Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2016–17 not reported
Meniscectomy last reported 2021–22 not reported
Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2023–24 not reported
Orchidopexy last reported 2016–17 not reported
Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2022–23 not reported
Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) last reported 2017–18 not reported
Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2016–17 not reported
Rotator cuff - repair of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Septoplasty last reported 2022–23 not reported
Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2023–24 not reported
Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2016–17 not reported
Toenail surgery last reported 2023–24 not reported
Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2022–23 not reported
Turbinectomy last reported 2020–21 not reported
Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2019–20 not reported
Varicose veins treatment last reported 2016–17 not reported

Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.

All planned surgery at Derby Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.
Urgency category Median wait Treated within the recommended time Surgeries
Urgent 3 days 90% 31 surgeries
Semi-urgent 62 days 70% 70 surgeries
Non-urgent 118 days 93% 121 surgeries
Cite this page

In 2024–25, Derby Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 3 days for eardrum drainage to 82 days for cataract surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

Copy-ready citation

Surgery Waits, "Derby Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/derby-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.

Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/derby-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Western Australia · All hospitals