Surgery Waits

Katherine Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Katherine area of Northern Territory published median waits from 29 days for dilatation and curettage to 391 days for eardrum repair.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Katherine Hospital is a public hospital in the Katherine area of Northern Territory. It is part of NT Regional Health Services. It reported 28 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 31 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Katherine Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.
Surgery Median wait Surgeries Waited more than 365 days
Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage 29 days 27 surgeries not published
Circumcision 51 days 22 surgeries not published
Skin lesion - excision of 53 days 68 surgeries 0.0%
Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) 86 days 112 surgeries 1.8%
Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty 391 days 18 surgeries not published
Arthroscopy not published not published not published
Carpal tunnel release not published not published not published
Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) not published 6 surgeries not published
Cone biopsy not published not published not published
Curettage and evacuation of uterus not published 6 surgeries not published
Dupytren's contracture release not published not published not published
Ectropion - correction of not published not published not published
Endometrial ablation not published not published not published
Female sterilisation not published 6 surgeries not published
Haemorrhoidectomy not published 5 surgeries not published
Herniorrhaphy not published not published not published
Hydrocele - repair of not published not published not published
Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) not published 5 surgeries not published
Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy not published 6 surgeries not published
Laparoscopy not published 7 surgeries not published
Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) not published 5 surgeries not published
Myringotomy not published 9 surgeries not published
Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) not published not published not published
Pilonidal sinus surgery not published not published not published
Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of not published 8 surgeries not published
Pterygium - excision of not published 6 surgeries not published
Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy not published not published not published
Toenail surgery not published not published not published
Not reported for this period
Adenoidectomy last reported 2020–21 not reported
Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2020–21 not reported
Axillary node dissection last reported 2016–17 not reported
Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2019–20 not reported
Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 not reported
Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2022–23 not reported
Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2021–22 not reported
Cystoscopy last reported 2023–24 not reported
Dialysis access surgery last reported 2023–24 not reported
Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2023–24 not reported
Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2017–18 not reported
Ethmoidectomy last reported 2019–20 not reported
Exostosis - excision of last reported 2017–18 not reported
Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2019–20 not reported
Ganglion - excision of last reported 2020–21 not reported
Lymphangioma - surgery for last reported 2016–17 not reported
Mastectomy last reported 2016–17 not reported
Mastoidectomy last reported 2018–19 not reported
Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2019–20 not reported
Myomectomy last reported 2020–21 not reported
Nasal polypectomy last reported 2019–20 not reported
Orchidopexy last reported 2017–18 not reported
Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2018–19 not reported
Septoplasty last reported 2018–19 not reported
Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2017–18 not reported
Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2018–19 not reported
Turbinectomy last reported 2019–20 not reported
Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2017–18 not reported
Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2018–19 not reported
Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2021–22 not reported
Varicose veins treatment last reported 2017–18 not reported

Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.

All planned surgery at Katherine Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.
Urgency category Median wait Treated within the recommended time Surgeries
Urgent 11 days 71% 63 surgeries
Semi-urgent 72 days 57% 163 surgeries
Non-urgent 87 days 95% 106 surgeries
Cite this page

In 2024–25, Katherine Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 29 days for dilatation and curettage to 391 days for eardrum repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

Copy-ready citation

Surgery Waits, "Katherine Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/katherine-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.

Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/katherine-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Northern Territory · All hospitals