Carpal tunnel surgery waiting time at Healesville Hospital and Yarra Valley Health
Half of patients at Healesville Hospital and Yarra Valley Health waited 53 days or less for carpal tunnel surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Carpal tunnel release". This public hospital is in the Healesville area of Victoria.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 53 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 40 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 160 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 47 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 27 days in 2023–24 to 53 days in 2024–25 — up 96% — while the national median fell from 72 days to 71 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Maroondah Hospital [East Ringwood], about 30 km away, at 52 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Carpal tunnel release" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Healesville Hospital and Yarra Valley Health | 53 days | not published | 40 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 53 days | 3.5% | 2456 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 71 days | 5.2% | 9994 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 71 days marks the national median.
Yarra Ranges Health, VIC · about 20 km away: 60 days
Maroondah Hospital [East Ringwood], VIC · about 30 km away: 52 days
Angliss Hospital, VIC · about 34 km away: 83 days
Blackburn Public Surgical Centre, VIC · about 39 km away: 60 days
Box Hill Hospital, VIC · about 41 km away: 56 days
Austin Hospital [Heidelberg], VIC · about 43 km away: 100 days
Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital [Heidelberg West], VIC · about 44 km away: 138 days
Monash Medical Centre [Clayton], VIC · about 45 km away: 44 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Healesville Hospital and Yarra Valley Health
- VIC
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Healesville Hospital and Yarra Valley Health (days) | VIC (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 42 | 56 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 45 | 61 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 41 | 62 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 52 | 70 |
| 2020–21 | not reported for this period | 87 | 80 |
| 2021–22 | not published | 85 | 82 |
| 2022–23 | not published | 80 | 83 |
| 2023–24 | 27 | 54 | 72 |
| 2024–25 | 53 | 53 | 71 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Healesville Hospital and Yarra Valley Health · Carpal tunnel surgery across Australia · Carpal tunnel surgery in Victoria · All surgery waits in Victoria