Carotid artery plaque removal waiting time at Frankston Hospital
Half of patients at Frankston Hospital waited 27 days or less for carotid artery plaque removal in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Carotid endarterectomy". This public hospital is in the Frankston area of Victoria.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 27 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 11 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 27 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 21 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 18 days in 2019–20 to 27 days in 2024–25 — up 50% — while the national median rose from 17 days to 20 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Box Hill Hospital, about 37 km away, at 13 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Carotid endarterectomy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frankston Hospital | 27 days | not published | 11 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 19 days | 1.6% | 128 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 20 days | 0.6% | 702 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 20 days marks the national median.
Box Hill Hospital, VIC · about 37 km away: 13 days
St Vincent's Hospital [Melbourne], VIC · about 41 km away: 8 days
Royal Melbourne Hospital [City Campus], VIC · about 42 km away: 22 days
Western Hospital [Footscray], VIC · about 45 km away: 17 days
University Hospital Geelong, VIC · about 67 km away: 26 days
Ballarat Health Services [Base Hospital], VIC · about 130 km away: 20 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Frankston Hospital
- VIC
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Frankston Hospital (days) | VIC (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 15 | 11 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 16 | 13 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 22 | 19 |
| 2019–20 | 18 | 17 | 17 |
| 2020–21 | 26 | 18 | 20 |
| 2021–22 | 18 | 15 | 16 |
| 2022–23 | not published | 16 | 18 |
| 2023–24 | not published | 20 | 18 |
| 2024–25 | 27 | 19 | 20 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Frankston Hospital · Carotid artery plaque removal across Australia · Carotid artery plaque removal in Victoria · All surgery waits in Victoria