Cataract surgery waiting time at Ceduna District Health Service
Half of patients at Ceduna District Health Service waited 6 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Thevenard area of South Australia.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 6 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 10 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 5 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 2 days in 2022–23 to 6 days in 2024–25 — up 200% — while the national median fell from 133 days to 106 days. No public hospital nearby published a shorter median for this surgery in this period.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ceduna District Health Service | 6 days | not published | 10 surgeries |
| South Australia (all public hospitals) | 84 days | 9.0% | 9054 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Port Lincoln Health Service, SA · about 353 km away: 17 days
Whyalla Hospital and Health Services, SA · about 380 km away: 196 days
Port Augusta Hospital and Regional Health Services, SA · about 388 km away: 119 days
Northern Yorke Peninsula Health Service (Wallaroo), SA · about 421 km away: 21 days
Port Pirie Regional Health Service, SA · about 422 km away: 199 days
Clare Hospital, SA · about 499 km away: 48 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 500 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Ceduna District Health Service
- SA
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Ceduna District Health Service (days) | SA (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 78 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 82 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 78 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 99 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 119 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 93 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 97 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 106 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 107 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | not published | 145 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | not published | 120 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 2 | 75 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 1 | 76 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 6 | 84 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Ceduna District Health Service · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in South Australia · All surgery waits in South Australia