Cataract surgery waiting time at Blue Mountains Hospital
Half of patients at Blue Mountains Hospital waited 281 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Leura area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 281 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 539 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 3.0%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 112 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 266 days in 2022–23 to 281 days in 2024–25 — up 6% — while the national median fell from 133 days to 106 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Lithgow Hospital, about 29 km away, at 231 days. Here, 3.0% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blue Mountains Hospital | 281 days | 3.0% | 539 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 268 days | 22.0% | 32695 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Lithgow Hospital, NSW · about 29 km away: 231 days
Hawkesbury Hospital, NSW · about 47 km away: 77 days
Campbelltown Hospital, NSW · about 61 km away: 317 days
Liverpool Hospital, NSW · about 61 km away: 204 days
Westmead Hospital, NSW · about 63 km away: 351 days
The Children's Hospital at Westmead, NSW · about 63 km away: 44 days
Auburn Hospital, NSW · about 68 km away: 280 days
Bankstown Lidcombe Hospital, NSW · about 69 km away: 307 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Blue Mountains Hospital
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Blue Mountains Hospital (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 233 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 238 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 218 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 221 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 240 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 224 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 223 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 245 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 286 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | not reported for this period | 290 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | not reported for this period | 278 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 266 | 282 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 243 | 262 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 281 | 268 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Blue Mountains Hospital · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales