Auburn Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Auburn area of New South Wales published median waits from 21 days for salivary gland removal to 330 days for deviated septum surgery.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Auburn Hospital is a public hospital in the Auburn area of New South Wales. It is part of Western Sydney. It reported 62 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 25 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of | 21 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Mastectomy | 22 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 28 days | 325 surgeries | 0.3% |
| Circumcision | 33 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | 33 days | 41 surgeries | not published |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | 34 days | 48 surgeries | not published |
| Microlaryngoscopy | 37 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 39 days | 159 surgeries | 0.6% |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 53 days | 187 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | 53 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 67 days | 87 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 68 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 68 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 71 days | 123 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | 73 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Myringotomy | 86 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of | 86 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | 87 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 88 days | 133 surgeries | 1.5% |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | 121 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | 174 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | 228 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Total knee replacement | 240 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 280 days | 466 surgeries | 26.2% |
| Varicose veins treatment | 306 days | 114 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Adenoidectomy | 307 days | 77 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty | 319 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | 320 days | 294 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery | 327 days | 46 surgeries | not published |
| Septoplasty | 330 days | 145 surgeries | 0.7% |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthrodesis | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthroscopy | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Blepharoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | not published | not published | not published |
| Cone biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Cystectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Cystoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | not published | not published | not published |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Mastoidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Meniscectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Myomectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Orchidopexy | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Osteotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Parathyroidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Pterygium - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Rhinoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Scar revision | not published | not published | not published |
| Shoulder joint replacement | not published | not published | not published |
| Stapedectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | not published | not published |
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Breast reduction last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Cervical discectomy and fusion last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Cleft lip and palate - repair of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Female sterilisation last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Fundoplication last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Hypospadias - repair of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Laryngectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Meatoplasty last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nasal cautery last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Orchidectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Pharynx - excision of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Total hip replacement last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Turbinectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 14 days | 100% | 360 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 48 days | 92% | 1311 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 304 days | 91% | 1560 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Auburn Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 21 days for salivary gland removal to 330 days for deviated septum surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Auburn Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/auburn-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/auburn-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in New South Wales · All hospitals