Lithgow Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the South Littleton area of New South Wales published median waits from 24 days for skin lesion removal to 231 days for cataract surgery.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Lithgow Hospital is a public hospital in the South Littleton area of New South Wales. It is part of Nepean Blue Mountains. It reported 31 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 37 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Skin lesion - excision of | 24 days | 126 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 25 days | 49 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroscopy | 60 days | 29 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 62 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 83 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 84 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 122 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 170 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 231 days | 300 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Arthrodesis | not published | not published | not published |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage | not published | not published | not published |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | not published | not published |
| Cone biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Cystoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | not published | not published |
| Endometrial ablation | not published | not published | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Laparoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | not published | not published | not published |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of | not published | not published | not published |
| Pterygium - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Scar revision | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Dialysis access surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Female sterilisation last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Mastectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Meniscectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Myomectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2014–15 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Orchidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Orchidopexy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Osteotomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Prostate biopsy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Rotator cuff - repair of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Septoplasty last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Tendon release last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Turbinectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 18 days | 100% | 91 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 55 days | 100% | 244 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 264 days | 99% | 316 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Lithgow Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 24 days for skin lesion removal to 231 days for cataract surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Lithgow Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/lithgow-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/lithgow-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in New South Wales · All hospitals