Ballina District Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the South Ballina area of New South Wales published median waits from 13 days for dialysis access surgery to 154 days for varicose vein surgery.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Ballina District Hospital is a public hospital in the South Ballina area of New South Wales. It is part of Northern NSW. It reported 29 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 33 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dialysis access surgery | 13 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 29 days | 327 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Toenail surgery | 43 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 52 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 58 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 61 days | 92 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Prostate biopsy | 65 days | 60 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Herniorrhaphy | 70 days | 38 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 76 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | 76 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Cystoscopy | 81 days | 269 surgeries | 0.4% |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | 87 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Circumcision | 92 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Varicose veins treatment | 154 days | 67 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Endometrial ablation | not published | not published | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | not published | not published | not published |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Orchidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Scar revision | not published | not published | not published |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | not published | not published |
| Urethra - dilatation of | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Bladder neck incision last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Breast reduction last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Cone biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Cystectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Ethmoidectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Female sterilisation last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Mastectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Nasal cautery last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Orchidopexy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Pharynx - excision of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Septoplasty last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Stapedectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Turbinectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 15 days | 100% | 243 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 57 days | 97% | 559 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 199 days | 99% | 311 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Ballina District Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 13 days for dialysis access surgery to 154 days for varicose vein surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Ballina District Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/ballina-district-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/ballina-district-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in New South Wales · All hospitals