Dermoid cyst - removal of waiting time at Women's and Children's Hospital
Half of patients at Women's and Children's Hospital waited 82 days or less for dermoid cyst - removal of in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). This public hospital is in the North Adelaide area of South Australia.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 82 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 19 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 5 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 3 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Royal Children's Hospital [Parkville], about 653 km away, at 59 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Dermoid cyst - removal of" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Women's and Children's Hospital | 82 days | not published | 19 surgeries |
| South Australia (all public hospitals) | not published | not published | 30 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | not published | not published | 71 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 86 days | 8.9% | 236 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 86 days marks the national median.
Royal Children's Hospital [Parkville], VIC · about 653 km away: 59 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 1000 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Women's and Children's Hospital
- SA
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Women's and Children's Hospital (days) | SA (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | not published | 38 |
| 2017–18 | not published | not published | 53 |
| 2018–19 | not published | not published | 55 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | not published | not published |
| 2020–21 | not published | not published | not published |
| 2021–22 | not reported for this period | not published | not published |
| 2022–23 | not reported for this period | not published | 117 |
| 2023–24 | not published | not published | 90 |
| 2024–25 | 82 | not published | 86 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Women's and Children's Hospital · Dermoid cyst - removal of across Australia · Dermoid cyst - removal of in South Australia · All surgery waits in South Australia