Cataract surgery waiting time at West Gippsland Healthcare Group [Warragul]
Half of patients at West Gippsland Healthcare Group [Warragul] waited 64 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Warragul area of Victoria.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 64 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 748 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 0.0%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 31 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 7 days in 2015–16 to 64 days in 2024–25 — up 814% — while the national median rose from 93 days to 106 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Latrobe Regional Hospital [Traralgon], about 48 km away, at 1 day. Here, 0.0% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Gippsland Healthcare Group [Warragul] | 64 days | 0.0% | 748 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 68 days | 4.7% | 21008 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Latrobe Regional Hospital [Traralgon], VIC · about 48 km away: 1 day
Cranbourne Integrated Care Centre, VIC · about 57 km away: 100 days
Bass Coast Health, VIC · about 57 km away: 27 days
Yarra Ranges Health, VIC · about 69 km away: 87 days
Monash Medical Centre [Clayton], VIC · about 73 km away: 338 days
Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital [Heidelberg West], VIC · about 90 km away: 134 days
The Alfred, VIC · about 90 km away: 36 days
The Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital, VIC · about 93 km away: 48 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- West Gippsland Healthcare Group [Warragul]
- VIC
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | West Gippsland Healthcare Group [Warragul] (days) | VIC (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 61 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 52 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 41 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 35 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | 7 | 56 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | 3 | 41 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | 0 | 40 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | 7 | 36 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | 5 | 49 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | 7 | 79 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | 1 | 84 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 4 | 77 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 86 | 89 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 64 | 68 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at West Gippsland Healthcare Group [Warragul] · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in Victoria · All surgery waits in Victoria