Surgery Waits

Shock wave stone treatment waiting time at Wagga Wagga Hospital

Half of patients at Wagga Wagga Hospital waited 24 days or less for shock wave stone treatment in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Lithotripsy". This public hospital is in the Turvey Park area of New South Wales.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.

Median wait
24 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Surgeries completed
77 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Waited more than 365 days
0.0%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026

Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 49 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 13 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.

The median wait here has fallen from 26 days in 2018–19 to 24 days in 2024–25 — down 8% — while the national median fell from 36 days to 28 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Griffith Base Hospital, about 152 km away, at 8 days. Here, 0.0% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 0.8%.

Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Lithotripsy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

How this compares

Median wait, long waits and volume for Lithotripsy, 2024–25.
Where Median wait Waited more than 365 days Surgeries
Wagga Wagga Hospital24 days0.0%77 surgeries
New South Wales (all public hospitals)28 days0.7%1134 surgeries
Victoria (all public hospitals)26 days0.4%675 surgeries
Australia (all public hospitals)28 days0.8%2881 surgeries

Where the wait is shorter nearby

Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 28 days marks the national median.

Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 500 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.

Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.

How the wait has changed

Median wait for lithotripsy by financial year at Wagga Wagga Hospital, compared with New South Wales and Australiadays0102030402016–172018–192020–212022–232024–25Wagga Wagga Hospital 24NSW 28Australia 28
View these numbers as a table
Median wait in days for Lithotripsy, by financial year. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.
Reference periodWagga Wagga Hospital (days)NSW (days)Australia (days)
2016–17not reported for this periodnot reported for this period34
2017–18not reported for this periodnot reported for this period29
2018–19263636
2019–20262728
2020–21243134
2021–22232733
2022–23312830
2023–24242828
2024–25242828

Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.

All surgery at Wagga Wagga Hospital · Shock wave stone treatment across Australia · Shock wave stone treatment in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales