Varicose vein surgery waiting time at Sunshine Coast University Hospital
Half of patients at Sunshine Coast University Hospital waited 288 days or less for varicose vein surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Varicose veins treatment". This public hospital is in the Birtinya area of Queensland.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 288 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 51 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 21.6%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 64 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 49 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 284 days in 2017–18 to 288 days in 2024–25 — up 1% — while the national median rose from 101 days to 133 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is The Prince Charles Hospital, about 72 km away, at 170 days. Here, 21.6% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 9.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Varicose veins treatment" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sunshine Coast University Hospital | 288 days | 21.6% | 51 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 255 days | 9.4% | 1099 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 189 days | 4.6% | 474 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 133 days | 9.5% | 3346 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 133 days marks the national median.
The Prince Charles Hospital, QLD · about 72 km away: 170 days
Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital, QLD · about 78 km away: 119 days
Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service, QLD · about 79 km away: 261 days
Mater Adult Hospital, QLD · about 83 km away: 267 days
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 84 km away: 147 days
Gold Coast University Hospital, QLD · about 137 km away: 324 days
Lismore Base Hospital, NSW · about 230 km away: 139 days
Ballina District Hospital, NSW · about 239 km away: 154 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Sunshine Coast University Hospital
- QLD
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Sunshine Coast University Hospital (days) | QLD (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 77 | 103 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 56 | 96 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 64 | 97 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 40 | 105 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 58 | 104 |
| 2016–17 | not published | 72 | 90 |
| 2017–18 | 284 | 90 | 101 |
| 2018–19 | 331 | 109 | 108 |
| 2019–20 | 335 | 146 | 129 |
| 2020–21 | 358 | 101 | 223 |
| 2021–22 | 388 | 119 | 208 |
| 2022–23 | 346 | 219 | 216 |
| 2023–24 | 237 | 206 | 189 |
| 2024–25 | 288 | 189 | 133 |
Queensland's quarterly figures for vascular surgery
These are not figures for varicose veins treatment. Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Sunshine Coast University.
- Patients treated
- 186 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Treated within the recommended time
- 68.8%July to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Still waiting at the end of the quarter
- 189 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Waiting longer than recommended
- 31 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Sunshine Coast University Hospital · Varicose vein surgery across Australia · Varicose vein surgery in Queensland · All surgery waits in Queensland