Urinary stone removal waiting time at Sunshine Coast University Hospital
Half of patients at Sunshine Coast University Hospital waited 43 days or less for urinary stone removal in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Stone/s urinary tract - removal of". This public hospital is in the Birtinya area of Queensland.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 43 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 127 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 0.0%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 28 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 21 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 28 days in 2019–20 to 43 days in 2024–25 — up 54% — while the national median fell from 28 days to 25 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Nambour General Hospital, about 21 km away, at 30 days. Here, 0.0% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 1.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Stone/s urinary tract - removal of" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sunshine Coast University Hospital | 43 days | 0.0% | 127 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 71 days | 4.1% | 878 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 32 days | 0.3% | 301 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 25 days | 1.5% | 3653 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 25 days marks the national median.
Nambour General Hospital, QLD · about 21 km away: 30 days
Ipswich Hospital, QLD · about 103 km away: 29 days
Toowoomba Hospital, QLD · about 148 km away: 21 days
Coffs Harbour Hospital, NSW · about 397 km away: 25 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 500 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Sunshine Coast University Hospital
- QLD
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Sunshine Coast University Hospital (days) | QLD (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 24 | 28 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | not published | 29 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 22 | 26 |
| 2019–20 | 28 | 24 | 28 |
| 2020–21 | 35 | 26 | 29 |
| 2021–22 | 40 | 21 | 21 |
| 2022–23 | 50 | 28 | 23 |
| 2023–24 | 36 | 34 | 24 |
| 2024–25 | 43 | 32 | 25 |
Queensland's quarterly figures for urology
These are not figures for stone/s urinary tract - removal of. Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Sunshine Coast University.
- Patients treated
- 293 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Treated within the recommended time
- 51.2%July to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Still waiting at the end of the quarter
- 278 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Waiting longer than recommended
- 35 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Sunshine Coast University Hospital · Urinary stone removal across Australia · Urinary stone removal in Queensland · All surgery waits in Queensland