Pterygium (eye growth) removal waiting time at Sunshine Coast University Hospital
Half of patients at Sunshine Coast University Hospital waited 196 days or less for pterygium (eye growth) removal in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Pterygium - excision of". This public hospital is in the Birtinya area of Queensland.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 196 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 29 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 65 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 28 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 153 days in 2023–24 to 196 days in 2024–25 — up 28% — while the national median rose from 191 days to 197 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Caloundra Hospital, about 6 km away, at 67 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Pterygium - excision of" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sunshine Coast University Hospital | 196 days | not published | 29 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 346 days | 32.1% | 735 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 184 days | 4.5% | 512 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 197 days | 15.7% | 2442 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 197 days marks the national median.
Caloundra Hospital, QLD · about 6 km away: 67 days
Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service, QLD · about 79 km away: 218 days
Mater Adult Hospital, QLD · about 83 km away: 287 days
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 84 km away: 76 days
Redland Hospital, QLD · about 89 km away: 160 days
Gold Coast University Hospital, QLD · about 137 km away: 229 days
Robina Hospital, QLD · about 150 km away: 192 days
Murwillumbah District Hospital, NSW · about 178 km away: 275 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Sunshine Coast University Hospital
- QLD
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Sunshine Coast University Hospital (days) | QLD (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 107 | 128 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 187 | 152 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 111 | 125 |
| 2019–20 | not published | 126 | 155 |
| 2020–21 | not published | 145 | 230 |
| 2021–22 | not published | 235 | 238 |
| 2022–23 | not published | 125 | 241 |
| 2023–24 | 153 | 147 | 191 |
| 2024–25 | 196 | 184 | 197 |
Queensland's quarterly figures for ophthalmology
These are not figures for pterygium - excision of. Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Sunshine Coast University.
- Patients treated
- 161 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Treated within the recommended time
- 80.7%July to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Still waiting at the end of the quarter
- 259 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Waiting longer than recommended
- 38 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Sunshine Coast University Hospital · Pterygium (eye growth) removal across Australia · Pterygium (eye growth) removal in Queensland · All surgery waits in Queensland