Hysterectomy waiting time at Sunshine Coast University Hospital
Half of patients at Sunshine Coast University Hospital waited 109 days or less for hysterectomy in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)". This public hospital is in the Birtinya area of Queensland.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 109 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 39 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 126 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 74 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 90 days in 2016–17 to 109 days in 2024–25 — up 21% — while the national median rose from 55 days to 74 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Nambour General Hospital, about 21 km away, at 97 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sunshine Coast University Hospital | 109 days | not published | 39 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 84 days | 8.3% | 904 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 74 days | 7.4% | 9163 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 74 days marks the national median.
Nambour General Hospital, QLD · about 21 km away: 97 days
Caboolture Hospital, QLD · about 40 km away: 65 days
Redcliffe Hospital, QLD · about 54 km away: 88 days
Gympie Hospital, QLD · about 77 km away: 144 days
Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital, QLD · about 78 km away: 26 days
Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service, QLD · about 79 km away: 92 days
Mater Adult Hospital, QLD · about 83 km away: 18 days
Mater Mothers' Hospital, QLD · about 83 km away: 125 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Sunshine Coast University Hospital
- QLD
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Sunshine Coast University Hospital (days) | QLD (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 55 | 53 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 55 | 53 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 56 | 52 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 62 | 55 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 54 | 52 |
| 2016–17 | 90 | 61 | 55 |
| 2017–18 | 71 | 67 | 57 |
| 2018–19 | 75 | 67 | 61 |
| 2019–20 | 85 | 76 | 63 |
| 2020–21 | 70 | 77 | 80 |
| 2021–22 | 84 | 82 | 74 |
| 2022–23 | 62 | 91 | 84 |
| 2023–24 | 69 | 89 | 77 |
| 2024–25 | 109 | 84 | 74 |
Queensland's quarterly figures for gynaecology
These are not figures for hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic). Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Sunshine Coast University.
- Patients treated
- 284 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Treated within the recommended time
- 63.0%July to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Still waiting at the end of the quarter
- 469 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Waiting longer than recommended
- 38 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Sunshine Coast University Hospital · Hysterectomy across Australia · Hysterectomy in Queensland · All surgery waits in Queensland