Singleton Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Redbournberry area of New South Wales published median waits from 19 days for gallbladder removal to 79 days for keyhole belly surgery (laparoscopy).
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Singleton Hospital is a public hospital in the Redbournberry area of New South Wales. It is part of Hunter New England. It reported 26 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 24 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 19 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 21 days | 167 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Carpal tunnel release | 24 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 29 days | 59 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Herniorrhaphy | 30 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 30 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | 39 days | 54 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Laparoscopy | 79 days | 29 surgeries | not published |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | not published | not published |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | not published | not published | not published |
| Cystoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Endometrial ablation | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | not published | not published | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Meniscectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Osteotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder reconstruction | not published | not published | not published |
| Stress incontinence surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Tenotomy of hip | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Arthrodesis last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Arthroscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Cone biopsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Cystectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Dupytren's contracture release last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Mastectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Rotator cuff - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Tendon release last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 8 days | 100% | 31 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 27 days | 100% | 308 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 65 days | 100% | 158 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Singleton Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 19 days for gallbladder removal to 79 days for keyhole belly surgery (laparoscopy) (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Singleton Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/singleton-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/singleton-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in New South Wales · All hospitals