Cessnock Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Cessnock area of New South Wales published median waits from 20 days for breast lump removal to 263 days for hernia repair.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Cessnock Hospital is a public hospital in the Cessnock area of New South Wales. It is part of Hunter New England. It reported 35 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 28 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | 20 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 41 days | 71 surgeries | 1.4% |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 42 days | 95 surgeries | 2.1% |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | 44 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 54 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Prostate biopsy | 65 days | 29 surgeries | not published |
| Cystoscopy | 81 days | 317 surgeries | 0.9% |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | 110 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 122 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| Toenail surgery | 193 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 244 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 263 days | 40 surgeries | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast reconstruction | not published | not published | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Cone biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Lithotripsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Mastectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Meniscectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Nerve decompression | not published | not published | not published |
| Orchidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | not published | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Arthrodesis last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Bladder neck incision last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Chalazion - excision of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Cystectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Dupytren's contracture release last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Laparoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Meatoplasty last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Orchidopexy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Osteotomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Scar revision last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 16 days | 99% | 159 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 61 days | 75% | 392 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 189 days | 93% | 328 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Cessnock Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 20 days for breast lump removal to 263 days for hernia repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Cessnock Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cessnock-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cessnock-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in New South Wales · All hospitals