Cataract surgery waiting time at Redland Hospital
Half of patients at Redland Hospital waited 73 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Cleveland area of Queensland.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 73 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 489 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 0.6%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 38 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 62 days in 2019–20 to 73 days in 2024–25 — up 18% — while the national median rose from 98 days to 106 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Queensland Children's Hospital, about 23 km away, at 48 days. Here, 0.6% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Redland Hospital | 73 days | 0.6% | 489 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 82 days | 1.9% | 8868 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 22 km away: 103 days
Mater Adult Hospital, QLD · about 23 km away: 88 days
Queensland Children's Hospital, QLD · about 23 km away: 48 days
Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital, QLD · about 24 km away: 90 days
Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service, QLD · about 24 km away: 66 days
Gold Coast University Hospital, QLD · about 48 km away: 69 days
Robina Hospital, QLD · about 60 km away: 77 days
Caloundra Hospital, QLD · about 83 km away: 70 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Redland Hospital
- QLD
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Redland Hospital (days) | QLD (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 51 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 44 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 52 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 57 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 64 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 70 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 87 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 72 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | 62 | 83 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | 64 | 84 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | 87 | 84 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 60 | 77 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 67 | 76 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 73 | 82 | 106 |
Queensland's quarterly figures for ophthalmology
These are not figures for cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion). Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Redland.
- Patients treated
- 149 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Treated within the recommended time
- 93.3%July to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Still waiting at the end of the quarter
- 250 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Waiting longer than recommended
- 0 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Redland Hospital · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in Queensland · All surgery waits in Queensland