Cataract surgery waiting time at Narrogin Hospital
Half of patients at Narrogin Hospital waited 105 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Narrogin area of Western Australia.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 105 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 120 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 0.8%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 63 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 49 days in 2020–21 to 105 days in 2024–25 — up 114% — while the national median fell from 172 days to 106 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Peel Health Campus, about 139 km away, at 48 days. Here, 0.8% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Narrogin Hospital | 105 days | 0.8% | 120 surgeries |
| Western Australia (all public hospitals) | 82 days | 5.1% | 12672 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Katanning Hospital, WA · about 91 km away: 363 days
Peel Health Campus, WA · about 139 km away: 48 days
Northam Hospital, WA · about 151 km away: 27 days
Bentley Health Service, WA · about 156 km away: 71 days
St John of God Midland Public Hospital, WA · about 159 km away: 23 days
Royal Perth Hospital Wellington Street Campus, WA · about 164 km away: 93 days
Fremantle Hospital and Health Service, WA · about 165 km away: 181 days
Perth Children's Hospital, WA · about 166 km away: 35 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Narrogin Hospital
- WA
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Narrogin Hospital (days) | WA (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 38 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 45 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 43 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 41 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 37 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 51 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 63 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 61 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 59 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | 49 | 77 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | 63 | 108 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 94 | 117 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 67 | 98 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 105 | 82 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Narrogin Hospital · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in Western Australia · All surgery waits in Western Australia