Hydrocele surgery waiting time at Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service
Half of patients at Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service waited 29 days or less for hydrocele surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Hydrocele - repair of". This public hospital is in the Mount Gambier area of South Australia.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 29 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 19 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 52 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 4 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 23 days in 2023–24 to 29 days in 2024–25 — up 26% — while the national median rose from 90 days to 95 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Naracoorte Health Service, about 93 km away, at 18 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Hydrocele - repair of" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service | 29 days | not published | 19 surgeries |
| South Australia (all public hospitals) | 84 days | 9.4% | 456 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 70 days | 5.4% | 261 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 95 days | 9.8% | 1477 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 95 days marks the national median.
Naracoorte Health Service, SA · about 93 km away: 18 days
Noarlunga Hospital, SA · about 360 km away: 105 days
Royal Children's Hospital [Parkville], VIC · about 366 km away: 161 days
Royal Melbourne Hospital [City Campus], VIC · about 366 km away: 122 days
Flinders Medical Centre, SA · about 368 km away: 76 days
St Vincent's On the Park, VIC · about 368 km away: 17 days
The Northern Hospital [Epping], VIC · about 372 km away: 64 days
Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital [Heidelberg West], VIC · about 374 km away: 84 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 500 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service
- SA
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service (days) | SA (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 40 | 75 |
| 2017–18 | not published | 62 | 70 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 63 | 70 |
| 2019–20 | not published | 91 | 87 |
| 2020–21 | not published | 104 | 113 |
| 2021–22 | not published | 111 | 121 |
| 2022–23 | not published | 109 | 138 |
| 2023–24 | 23 | 77 | 90 |
| 2024–25 | 29 | 84 | 95 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service · Hydrocele surgery across Australia · Hydrocele surgery in South Australia · All surgery waits in South Australia