Cataract surgery waiting time at Modbury Hospital
Half of patients at Modbury Hospital waited 61 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Modbury area of South Australia.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 61 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 957 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 0.2%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 29 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has fallen from 336 days in 2012–13 to 61 days in 2024–25 — down 82% — while the national median rose from 89 days to 106 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Flinders Medical Centre, about 24 km away, at 48 days. Here, 0.2% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Modbury Hospital | 61 days | 0.2% | 957 surgeries |
| South Australia (all public hospitals) | 84 days | 9.0% | 9054 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Royal Adelaide Hospital, SA · about 13 km away: 118 days
The Queen Elizabeth Hospital, SA · about 15 km away: 383 days
Flinders Medical Centre, SA · about 24 km away: 48 days
Gawler Health Service, SA · about 27 km away: 83 days
Mount Barker District Soldiers' Memorial Hospital, SA · about 32 km away: 211 days
Angaston District Hospital, SA · about 50 km away: 51 days
South Coast District Hospital, SA · about 81 km away: 17 days
Clare Hospital, SA · about 112 km away: 48 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Modbury Hospital
- SA
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Modbury Hospital (days) | SA (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 78 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | 336 | 82 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | 264 | 78 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 99 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 119 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 93 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | 278 | 97 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | 305 | 106 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | 245 | 107 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | 337 | 145 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | 321 | 120 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 317 | 75 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 272 | 76 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 61 | 84 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Modbury Hospital · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in South Australia · All surgery waits in South Australia