Surgery Waits

Glaucoma drainage surgery waiting time at Kempsey District Hospital

Half of patients at Kempsey District Hospital waited 76 days or less for glaucoma drainage surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Trabeculectomy". This public hospital is in the West Kempsey area of New South Wales.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.

Median wait
76 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Surgeries completed
39 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Waited more than 365 days
not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.

Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 19 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 15 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.

The median wait here has risen from 29 days in 2018–19 to 76 days in 2024–25 — up 162% — while the national median rose from 27 days to 32 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Kurri Kurri Hospital, about 234 km away, at 62 days.

Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Trabeculectomy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

How this compares

Median wait, long waits and volume for Trabeculectomy, 2024–25.
Where Median wait Waited more than 365 days Surgeries
Kempsey District Hospital76 daysnot published39 surgeries
New South Wales (all public hospitals)54 days0.0%303 surgeries
Queensland (all public hospitals)not publishednot published53 surgeries
Australia (all public hospitals)32 days0.1%716 surgeries

Where the wait is shorter nearby

Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 32 days marks the national median.

Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 500 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.

Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.

How the wait has changed

Median wait for trabeculectomy by financial year at Kempsey District Hospital, compared with New South Wales and Australiadays02550751002016–172018–192020–212022–232024–25Kempsey District Hospital 76NSW 54Australia 32
View these numbers as a table
Median wait in days for Trabeculectomy, by financial year. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.
Reference periodKempsey District Hospital (days)NSW (days)Australia (days)
2016–17not reported for this period4721
2017–18not reported for this period4224
2018–19294827
2019–20614124
2020–21523021
2021–22663321
2022–23635428
2023–24793829
2024–25765432

Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.

All surgery at Kempsey District Hospital · Glaucoma drainage surgery across Australia · Glaucoma drainage surgery in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales