Kempsey District Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the West Kempsey area of New South Wales published median waits from 19 days for LLETZ procedure to 323 days for hernia repair.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Kempsey District Hospital is a public hospital in the West Kempsey area of New South Wales. It is part of Mid North Coast. It reported 42 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 21 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | 19 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 28 days | 83 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 57 days | 113 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Trabeculectomy | 76 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 88 days | 44 surgeries | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | 99 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | 105 days | 78 surgeries | 1.3% |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression | 118 days | 40 surgeries | not published |
| Circumcision | 124 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 125 days | 37 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroscopy | 147 days | 32 surgeries | not published |
| Blepharoplasty | 200 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 208 days | 781 surgeries | 0.6% |
| Ectropion - correction of | 279 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| Pterygium - excision of | 293 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 323 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Arthrodesis | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthroplasty - revision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Axillary node dissection | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | not published | not published | not published |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Cystectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dialysis access surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of | not published | not published | not published |
| Heart valve replacement | not published | not published | not published |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Mastectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Orchidopexy | not published | not published | not published |
| Osteotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Ptosis - repair of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Shoulder joint replacement | not published | not published | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | not published | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Breast reconstruction last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Breast reduction last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Cystoscopy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Laparoscopy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Nasal cautery last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Orchidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Pharynx - excision of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Scar revision last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Total knee replacement last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 15 days | 98% | 101 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 74 days | 92% | 577 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 244 days | 99% | 936 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Kempsey District Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 19 days for LLETZ procedure to 323 days for hernia repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Kempsey District Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kempsey-district-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kempsey-district-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in New South Wales · All hospitals