Cataract surgery waiting time at Kalgoorlie Health Campus
Half of patients at Kalgoorlie Health Campus waited 208 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Piccadilly area of Western Australia.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 208 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 282 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 1.1%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 94 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 4 days in 2011–12 to 208 days in 2024–25 — up 5100% — while the national median rose from 89 days to 106 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Esperance Hospital, about 349 km away, at 84 days. Here, 1.1% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kalgoorlie Health Campus | 208 days | 1.1% | 282 surgeries |
| Western Australia (all public hospitals) | 82 days | 5.1% | 12672 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Esperance Hospital, WA · about 349 km away: 84 days
Northam Hospital, WA · about 469 km away: 27 days
Narrogin Hospital, WA · about 474 km away: 105 days
Katanning Hospital, WA · about 492 km away: 363 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 500 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Kalgoorlie Health Campus
- WA
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Kalgoorlie Health Campus (days) | WA (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | 4 | 38 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | 2 | 45 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | 12 | 43 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | 28 | 41 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | 43 | 37 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | 65 | 51 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | 97 | 63 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | not published | 61 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | not published | 59 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | not reported for this period | 77 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | not reported for this period | 108 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 207 | 117 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 192 | 98 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 208 | 82 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Kalgoorlie Health Campus · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in Western Australia · All surgery waits in Western Australia