Cooma Hospital and Health Service surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Polo Flat area of New South Wales published median waits from 29 days for dilatation and curettage to 185 days for inguinal hernia repair.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Cooma Hospital and Health Service is a public hospital in the Polo Flat area of New South Wales. It is part of Southern NSW. It reported 28 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 16 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 29 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 42 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroscopy | 54 days | 34 surgeries | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 72 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | 103 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | 132 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 185 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Arthrodesis | not published | not published | not published |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage | not published | not published | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Dialysis access surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of | not published | not published | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Osteotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Arthroplasty - revision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Cone biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Cystectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Cystoscopy last reported 2012–13 | not reported | ||
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Mastectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Scar revision last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 5 days | 100% | 12 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 41 days | 100% | 57 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 84 days | 100% | 161 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Cooma Hospital and Health Service published median planned-surgery waits from 29 days for dilatation and curettage to 185 days for inguinal hernia repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Cooma Hospital and Health Service waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cooma-hospital-and-health-service/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cooma-hospital-and-health-service/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in New South Wales · All hospitals