Cataract surgery waiting time at Bass Coast Health
Half of patients at Bass Coast Health waited 27 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the South Dudley area of Victoria.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 27 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 594 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 0.3%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 11 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Latrobe Regional Hospital [Traralgon], about 89 km away, at 1 day. Here, 0.3% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bass Coast Health | 27 days | 0.3% | 594 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 68 days | 4.7% | 21008 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
West Gippsland Healthcare Group [Warragul], VIC · about 57 km away: 64 days
Cranbourne Integrated Care Centre, VIC · about 61 km away: 100 days
Monash Medical Centre [Clayton], VIC · about 84 km away: 338 days
Latrobe Regional Hospital [Traralgon], VIC · about 89 km away: 1 day
Yarra Ranges Health, VIC · about 97 km away: 87 days
The Alfred, VIC · about 100 km away: 36 days
The Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital, VIC · about 103 km away: 48 days
Royal Melbourne Hospital [City Campus], VIC · about 105 km away: 88 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Bass Coast Health
- VIC
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Bass Coast Health (days) | VIC (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 61 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 52 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 41 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 35 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 56 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 41 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 40 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 36 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 49 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | not reported for this period | 79 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | not reported for this period | 84 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | not reported for this period | 77 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | not reported for this period | 89 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 27 | 68 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Bass Coast Health · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in Victoria · All surgery waits in Victoria