Alice Springs Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Alice Springs area of Northern Territory published median waits from 2 days for dialysis access surgery to 442 days for pterygium (eye growth) removal.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Alice Springs Hospital is a public hospital in the Alice Springs area of Northern Territory. It is part of NT Regional Health Services. It reported 77 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 25 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dialysis access surgery | 2 days | 103 surgeries | 1.0% |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | 3 days | 72 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 16 days | 123 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) | 16 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 21 days | 270 surgeries | 0.7% |
| Carpal tunnel release | 22 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroscopy | 31 days | 56 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 40 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| Cystoscopy | 43 days | 61 surgeries | 3.3% |
| Ganglion - excision of | 47 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 49 days | 36 surgeries | not published |
| Total hip replacement | 50 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | 55 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 56 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Myringotomy | 61 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 67 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 70 days | 41 surgeries | not published |
| Total knee replacement | 76 days | 31 surgeries | not published |
| Circumcision | 92 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | 132 days | 50 surgeries | 10.0% |
| Septoplasty | 139 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty | 158 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 266 days | 247 surgeries | 40.1% |
| Pterygium - excision of | 442 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression | not published | not published | not published |
| Adenoidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthrodesis | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroplasty - revision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Axillary node dissection | not published | not published | not published |
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Blepharoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | not published | not published | not published |
| Cone biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dacryocystorhinostomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Diathermy of wart/s | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | not published | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Endometrial ablation | not published | not published | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Mastectomy | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Microlaryngoscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of | not published | not published | not published |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Orchidopexy | not published | not published | not published |
| Osteotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Prostate biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | not published | not published | not published |
| Ptosis - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Scar revision | not published | not published | not published |
| Shoulder joint replacement | not published | not published | not published |
| Shoulder reconstruction | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | not published | not published |
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Turbinectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Urethra - dilatation of | not published | not published | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | not published | not published |
| Varicose veins treatment | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Amputation of limb last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Breast reduction last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Chalazion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Corneal graft last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Lithotripsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Mastoidectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Meniscectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Myomectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nephrectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Orchidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Probing of naso-lacrimal duct last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Rhinoplasty last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Stapedectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Ureteric - reimplantation last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 9 days | 88% | 719 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 63 days | 61% | 1013 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 142 days | 81% | 246 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Alice Springs Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 2 days for dialysis access surgery to 442 days for pterygium (eye growth) removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Alice Springs Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/alice-springs-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/alice-springs-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Northern Territory · All hospitals